≡ Menu

Allee Willis, John Mellencamp, more head to Songwriters Hall of Fame

The 2018 Songwriters Hall of Fame class will include John Mellencamp, Alan Jackson, Kool & the Gang and Jermaine Dupri, who will become the second hip-hop act inducted into the prestigious organization. The Songwriters Hall said Tuesday that Detroit native Allee Willis – who co-wrote the Broadway musical “The Color Purple,” “I’ll Be There for You” , as well as Earth, Wind and Fire’s “September” and “Boogie Wonderland – also will be inducted at its June 14 ceremony with country singer-songwriter Bill Anderson and Emmy- and Grammy-nominated songwriter Steve Dorff.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!